My Top Ten Sports Movies

It’s a tough thing to try and list your favorite sports movies much less break them down into a “Top Ten”. The list is long outside of this, but these are the sports movies I enjoy the most. I can start them up at any time and become fully engrossed in the story, despite seeing them several times. There are some that I have not seen, of course. I will list them at the end.

10. Bull Durham

9. The Program

8. Major League

7. The Natural

6. Mr. Baseball

5. Remember the Titans

4. Miracle

3. Hoosiers

2. Rudy

1. Rocky

Didn’t make the cut: Field of Dreams,  Bobby Jones: Stroke of Genius, Cinderella Man, Invincible, Jerry Maguire, A League of Their Own, The Hustler, The Sandlot

Still to come… There are a few sports movies I’ve managed to miss, so there may be changes after I watch those. Here’s a list of ones I plan on watching:

  • Blue Chips
  • 61
  • Slap Shot
  • Pride of the Yankees
  • White Men Can’t Jump
  • The Pride of the Yankees
  • Ali
  • Heaven Can Wait
  • The Longest Yard (1974)
  • Raging Bull

Please feel free to make suggestions!

Update: I just watched Blue Chips. I really enjoyed it, but I don’t think it can crack my top 10.

7 comments

  • Id have to go:

    10) Legend of Bagger Vance
    9) The Program
    8) A League of Their Own
    7) Field of Dreams
    6) Bull Durahm
    5) Remember the Titans
    4) Rocky IV
    3) Rudy
    2) For Love of the Game
    1) Sandlot

    Honorable Mention would be: 61, Miracle, The Perfect Game, The Express, Cinderella Man, Miracle, and Any Given Sunday.

    Ive never seen the Mr. Baseball, The Natural, Hoosiers, Slap Shot, Pride of the Yankees, Raging Bull, Longest Yard (74), Ali, Heaven Can Wait, The Hustler, Stroke of Genius, or Bobby Jones.

  • Pretty interesting that 3 of my top 10 are Kevin Costner Movies. Hes been in some good ones….Also, that was supposed to be an 8 not a smile face with glasses

  • I actually forgot about The Express and Any Given Sunday. They wouldn’t have made the list, though

  • Can’t believe you didnt think or even mention For Love of the Game. Thought you really liked that one

  • Ha. Good point. Well, that’s why I said make suggestions. I completely forgot about that one and I’m not sure how.

  • Good list, by the way. I knew you would put Sandlot as your #1. You should watch Mr. Baseball.

Leave a Reply

